ChrisCooperBand are a 5 piece Indie/Folk/Rock band originally from Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire.

They began playing as a group in 2010 as members Darryl Ebbatson and Chris Cooper releasing their first studio album ‘Harbour’ the same year and the accompanying tour with newest member Simon Barley adding to the sound on keyboards received good responses from several radio and media outlets including BBC Radio Humberside, BBC Introducing, Kawshaw Radio and St. Heliers Music Crowns London.

Having covered most of the UK in 2010/11 the band returned to their hometown to begin work on their follow-up album ‘Kings of Contradiction’ which would see them add new members to the lineup.

The addition of new blood and the evolution of the band sound has brought with it interesting developments as the guys continue to play melodic folk rock but mixing in elements of the harder Indie-influenced driving chords and adding a pinch of Americana to the pot. A wide array of influences give opportunities to explore musical directions and not be limited to genre specifics, making them sound like no other British band around now.

Receiving praise for their efforts wherever they play, the band have appeared far and wide including Sheffield City Hall, Tramlines Festival , Sheftival, Doncaster Live, C-Fab Festival, Humber Street Festival, Trinity Festival, The Baths Hall, Scunthorpe and Oscars Bar, Hull.

With their latest album ‘Kings of Contradiction’  available, the band have just completed a tour including headlining the Country Stage at the eclectic C-Fab Festival in May 2014, several dates in France as well as other dates in Driffield, Peterborough and Grimsthorpe Festival In Bourne, Lincolnshire. Currently taking a break from touring to work on material for a new album. Rare live dates in 2015 include a set at Sheffield City Hall as part of the prestigious Tramlines event!

Some low key acoustic gigs will introduce the new tracks before a full tour late 2015/early 2016.

Chris Cooper – Vocals, Guitar
Darryl Ebbatson – Guitars, Vocals
Sid Barley – Piano, Keyboards
Phillip Vernon – Drums
Jack Spence – Bass


“90 minutes of uplifting electric indie/folk and a bucket-load of catchy hook lines and singalong lyrics.”
– Scunthorpe Entertainer

“Aspirational songwriting, a gentle blend of driving chords and heartfelt, woeful lyrics, reminding us what it really is to live”
– C Fab Festival 2014

“Mixing electric with acoustic instruments and a strong defining drum beat along with the complimentary keyboard to back up to create its indie with a folk twist, the songs are up beat, memorable and a lot of their tunes you just can’t stop singing in your head.”
– Backseat Mafia Magazine

“Great band, cant wait to have them back on the show”
– The Friday Show, Estuary TV

“A band to watch out for in the coming year…”
– James Hoggarth BBC Radio

“We love this band, well produced and well played. Keep it up guys…”
– Alan Raw BBC Radio

“We love this track, awesome stuff from a promising northern band…”
– Kawshaw Radio Manchester

“melodic, catchy, fun, listen…”
– Music Crowns

“Fresh, fun and catchy…”
– Scunthorpe Telegraph.

“Proving original music still has a home in Lincolnshire…”
– Flatrabbitmusic